Albums - On Thin Ice.

  On Thin Ice. [1993 - RERELEASED FEB. 2002]
Walk away
Cried out blues
Mama's blues
Tears for a friend
Soft shoe shuffle
Snowy mountain
Highlands and islands
Lucky man
Living is for loving
Lazy bones
Tomorrow never comes
Rich Man's Song
Fourteen Wheeler Man
Time Is Running Out
Snowy Mountain 2
Lazy Bones 2
Rich Man's Song - reprise


Musicians Patrick Rowbottom Bass guitar, Keyboards, Vocals
  Dave Conner Lead and acoustic guitars
  Barry Stones Vocals, Guitar
  Mick Whatley Drums

Recorded at Soundcraft Studios,Leicester and The Basement Studios,Broadbottom during spring and summer 1993.
Released in November 1993.
During January 2002 the album was remixed and remastered at The Basement Studios,Broadbottom.
Released in February 2002.
Engineered by Dave Forward and Derek Roberts.
Remastering by Patrick Rowbottom and Dave Forward.
Artwork by
Produced by Patrick Rowbottom.

All songs by Patrick Rowbottom and Dave Conner except Cried Out Blues,Tears For A Friend by Barry Stones and Rich Man's Song,Fourteen Wheeler Man by Ralph Hall.
Additional vocals on Walk Away,Soft Shoe Shuffle,Crying Rich Man's Song and Fourteen Wheeler Man - Ralph Hall

Our first venture into the recording studio as a band, during the spring of 1993 ,was with the intent of recording several of our original tunes that had proved popular during the previous few months gigging schedule.As the sessions progressed we just carried on recording.It seemed a good idea at the time and in hindsight we were probably right.Although most of the material on the album features songs that were an active part of live performances at the time, a couple of new pieces sneaked in as well.During these sessions we found ourselves without a main singer...Andrew Mellor being unable to commit himself at the time.Instead vocals were handled by Barry and Patrick. Mention must also be made of a very good singer friend of ours from Leicester.Ralph did us proud on no less than five tracks.

When we came to rereleasing the album, it was suggested that it would be nice to add some extra tracks if they existed.After careful scrutiny in the vaults at The Basement Studio we did indeed find some unreleased material from the 1993 sessions.The end result being six new bonus tracks.Collectively the twenty tracks now available on the rerelease, which also comes with a newly designed album cover ,reflect how we sounded then...but things change,don't they? The overall feel of the album reflects the prog. rock and blues elements that have always been a feature of Cold Flame through the years.Several of the tunes found on the album have survived to the present day,albeit in modified form.These tunes include Living is for loving,Mamas blues and Snowy Mountain dedicated to The Nab...a major hillside landmark overlooking the Glossopdale valley.

Home About History News Gigs Albums Diary Links Contact

This site is hosted by Vision Internet Ltd. Maintained by