PATRICK ROWBOTTOM - The Sands of Time.
Original release 1995 - Remastered Feb 2007 PRM DCD02 2007

cd1 The Sands of Time - studio
Sands Of Time
Byards Leap
Two Sisters
Piccollo March
Every Man's An Island
Love Never Sleeps
Drummer Boy
The Piper's Song
Another Requiem
By The Sword Divided
*Byards Leap [alternate mix]
cd2 * The Sands of Time - live
Cotten Pickin'
Down On The Ranch
Sands Of Time
Every Man's An Island
Turning Of The Tide
Chimney Song
Close To The Wind
The Third Leg/ The Piper's Song
All Along The Watchtower
Knocking on Heaven's Door
Driftwood [demo]
Musicians - studio
Patrick Rowbottomvocals, electric bass guitars, mandolin, keyboards
Karen Heywoodvocals, acoustic guitar
Daniel Hallelectric guitar
Dave Forwardkeyboards, strings percussion
Ben Rossingtonflutes
John Peacocktrumpet
Jean Hobsonpiano accordian [track 6]
Jayne Pickfordflute [track 9]
Andrew Mellorvocals [tracks 11,14]
Musicians - live + 4track demo
Patrick Rowbottomvocals, bass guitar
Neil Fishervocals, acoustic guitar
Vince Waltonpercussion
Joe Francistenor saxophone

Recorded and engineered at The Basement Studio by Dave Forward in 1994/ 95 and live in Glossop from around the same time.
Remastered in Feb 2007 using the Cold Flame recording mobile. Remastering by Davyd Simpson. Produced by Patrick Rowbottom
All songs by Patrick Rowbottom except 'Byards Leap' and 'Two Sisters' trad..arranged by PR.. All Along The Watchtower/ Knocking On Heaven's Door - B.Dylan. Superman - G. Zeckley/M. Bottler. Close to the Wind - S.Marson. All arrangements PR.
Chimney song - Neil Fisher. * signifies previously unreleased material.

Patrick's second solo album was originally released in August 1995 and is a collection of acoustic and folk-rock tunes. Whilst this was a conscience effort to do something outside of the blues rock framework associated with Cold Flame there was also an interest in playing some simpler acoustic based material.There is an historical theme running throughout - The English civil war of 1661-65 and both the music and lyrics reflect this theme. Whilst the album may be short on blues some ex members of Cold Flame do make an appearance especially in the guitar work of Daniel Hall, whilst singer Andrew Mellor also features on a couple of tunes - 'The Pipers Song' and 'By the Sword Divided'. Some of the instrumental passages of the album are utilised in current Cold Flame songs especially 'Matty' which is the 'middle bit' of the revamped Mamas Blues originally recorded for 'On Thin Ice'. Several of the musicians appearing on the album display the rich vein of talent existing in the High Peak folk scene, centred in the Glossop area - a tradition that continues to this day. Most recently Cold Flame Acoustic have included some of the numbers on this album in their live set so in many ways this is a good time to release the remastered album in its entirety with the added bonus of some extremely rare and slighty dodgy live stuff recorded around the same time in a local Glossop venue. Again for this remaster the backroom staff of Davyd Simpson and Julian Homer were enlisted to ensure that things went smoothly.Rereleased September 2007 and available as with all other albums , direct from the band.

Home About History News Gigs Albums Diary Links Contact

This site is hosted by Vision Internet Ltd. Maintained by